For the first time in history, four Florida universities will meet at George M. Steinbrenner Field in Tampa to compete in “The Florida Four” on March 2, 2010.  For this inaugural event, the University of South Florida (USF) and #13 University of Miami (UM) will face each other at 4 p.m., immediately followed by #9 University of Florida (UF) and #5 Florida State University (FSU) going head-to-head in the nightcap. 

The Florida Four event is the latest in a long list of premier sporting events brought to Tampa by us here at the Tampa Bay Sports Commission. Past events include:
  • 2007 ACC tournament
  • 2008 NCAA first- and second-rounds in men's basketball
  • 2008 Women's Final Four.
  • 2009 SEC Men's Basketball Tournament
  • 2008 & 2009 ACC Football Championship
Individual tickets just went on sale at the Steinbrenner Field Box Office or at Ticketmaster. For more information call the Steinbrenner Field Box Office at (813) 875-7753.

That's it for now folks, but be sure to check back soon for more info on youth and amateur sports related Tampa Bay area events!