Recently announced was the Atlantic Coast Conference’s 2009 Legends class.  This year’s group is highlighted by two state standouts and former Heisman trophy winners in Chris Weinke (Florida State) and Vinny Testaverde (Miami), and one of the ACC’s winningest coach in Danny Ford (Clemson).

The Legends will be honored at this year's Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game weekend. They will appear at the ACC Coaches and Awards Luncheon at noon on Friday, Dec. 4, and will be honored at the "ACC Night of Legends" held at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay on Friday evening.  They will also be recognized during pre-game ceremonies at Raymond James Stadium for the 5th Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship, which has an 8 p.m. kickoff on Dec. 5 and will be nationally televised by ESPN.

This year’s class is well known for the individual accolades it has accomplished both at the collegiate the pro level.  Combined are two Heisman trophy winners, three ACC Players of the Year and seven All-Americans that went on to accrue 79 years of professional football experience.   Also to highlight are the combined two national championships, one NFL World Championship, and 15 ACC team titles held by this group.

You can catch the legends signing autographs, FREE at ACC FanFest before the 2009 Dr Pepper ACC Championship game!  For more information about the ACC Championship game and its surrounding events, log on to

For more information on the ACC Legends click here

Stay tuned for more things to do in Tampa Bay and Tampa Bay Sports Commission updates!